Category Archives: social norms

Summer School on Social Norms 14. July 2008 to 17. July 2008

For graduates and postgraduates  with a research interest in Social Norms, the University of the Basque Country’s  and the Urrutia Elejalde Foundation’s XI summer school on economics and philosophy will  focus on social norms.  The summer school will take placein San Sebastian, Spain from 14. July 2008 to 17. July 2008. The deadline for applications is  31. January 2008. Further information at as well as below

 “A summer school organized by the University of the Basque Country and the Urrutia Elejalde Foundation.
San Sebastián, July 14-17 (2008)

Director: Cristina Bicchieri (UPenn)

Coordinators: Alfonso Dubois (UPV/EHU), David Teira & Jesús Zamora(UNED)

Aims and Scope | Speakers | Call for papers

1. Aims and scope:

Since 1998 the Urrutia Elejalde has annually organized a Summer School on frontier topics between philosophy, economics and other social sciences, bringing together scholars from all these fields to explore them. The aim of this year Summer School is to introduce participants to the vast research that is taking place in the area of social norms. From philosophy and psychology to evolutionary game theory and experimental economics, recent work on social norms is shedding light on why and under what circumstances people engage in pro-social behavior, and how norms may emerge, stabilize or decay.

2. Preliminary list of speakers

Jason Alexander (LSE), Daniel Andler (Paris IV-ENS), Cristina Bicchieri (UPenn), Jordi Brandts (UAB), Pablo Brañas (Ugr), Cristiano Castelfranchi (ISTC- CNR), Jason DanaJon Elster (Columbia+College de France), Diego Gambetta (Oxford), Herbert Gintis (UMass), Russell Hardin (NYU), Shaun Nichols (U. Arizona), Dan SperberEdna Ullmann-Margalit (Jerusalem) (UPenn), (CNRS),

3. Call for papers

We encourage submission of papers that cover one or more of the above areas. The scientific committe will consider a number of submissions by young scholars at graduate or postgraduate level. The Foundation will cover the registration fees and accomodation expenses of the authors. Please send a 2000 words pdf abstract to David Teira (dteira [@] before Jan 31st 2008. A decision will be made by March 15th.

Scientific Committee: Cristina Bicchieri, Jason Alexander, Jason Dana, Diego Gambetta.”